top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Plum Tart Bars

Forgive me for this; really I didn't mean to but I SWEAR my next post won't be breakfast. It's just my favorite meal/ food group/ life event ever. If you don't like breakfast food, don't tell me. It will lead to questions like: Are you okay? Do you have a fever? Are you human?

Realistically, these can be dessert, but the sweet tooth is so prominent in my family, meaning that anything that can be breakfast, is breakfast. These would also make a fantastic party dessert. Unique enough and not overly sweet (oh hi, low sugar).

Ask me about how often my mother comes over with armfuls of produce and I have to figure out how to use it all up before it goes bad. Sure, I LOVE squash, peaches, and plums, however, it can get old eating it 3 days in a row. Isn't it funny how that doesn't work with double stuffed Oreos? If only.

Saturday mornings always consist of family breakfast. Read that as, I TRY to make breakfast every Saturday morning. Amidst the two tiny humans and me wanting to cuddle and drink coffee with Sweet Husband, it doesn't always happen. Sacrificing caffeine for the sake of delicious breakfast wasn't easy, but it was accomplished. Don't judge me for not being able to drink and bake at the same time.

These plum bars are all that is good and delicious in the world. They are buttery, warm, and sweet, with the perfect hint of tart, and they didn't last more than a day in my house. Did I mention, low sugar and can easily be made vegan?

Of course, Tiny Human #2 was my assistant this morning. That baby foot peaking in the corner was too cute to edit out.

Plum Tart Bars

Crust

-3/4 cup melted butter*

-1/2 cup of chopped walnuts

-1 1/4 cup of oats

-1 1/4 cup of flour

-1/2 cup of brown sugar

-3/4 tsp of salt

-1/2 tsp of baking soda

-1/2 tsp of baking powder

Filling

-1 1/2 cups of fresh, ripe plums (diced)

- 3 tbsp of sugar

-1/2 tsp cinnamon

-2 tbsp flour

-2 tbsp melted butter*

-juice of 1 lemon

Preheat your oven to 350F and lightly grease a 9x13 baking pan.

Combine all of the ingrediets for the crust until it's nice and crumbly.

Take about 3/4 of the crust, pack it in to the pan, and bake for about 13-15 minutes. While that bakes, combine everything in the filling.

Spread the filling over the baked crust and top with remaning crust mixture.

Bake for around 30 minutes, remove, and let it cool completely.

Slice, serve, and enjoy!

*Use Earth Balance butter for vegan.

Let me know how yours turn out, and if you had them for breakfast or dessert! I'm interested to see if anyone's sweet tooth rivals mine. ;)

bottom of page