top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Vegan Baked Oatmeal

You know those times when you get so excited about something you just HAVE to share it with the world? This morning's breakfast brought on that kind of feeling. Dearest husband and both tiny humans came down with a really-mild-but-really-congestive kind of cold....the day before the 4th of July. I know I'm crazy, but we have a pretty intense low/no sugar policy in this house when someone is sick. So there went my great idea for uber patriotic cinnamon rolls! Time to improvise.

At first I toyed with the idea of chia pudding parfaits, but then how would I ever showcase my beyond perfect plates that were snatched up yesterday from Tj Maxx? Did I really need new plates? No. Were they completely necessary? Oh yes. You can't resist the perfect mix of minimalistic and antique chic when they marry in the form of a beautiful piece of porcelain.

May I present: Vegan, Gluten-Free Baked Oatmeal!

This creaton is the perfect union of warm, sweet, and buttery goodness that is everything a breakfast should be. And it's about as healthy as possible for a true breakfast treat.

Becuase I really didn't think this would turn out so beautifully, I only took a few pictures. Blogger fail, right? At least I recieved an important lesson in never doubting yourself.

The Best Vegan Baked Oatmeal You Will Ever Consume

Wet Ingredients

- 2/3 Cup of your favorite Dairy-Free Milk. I used Almond Milk.

- 3 Tbsp Ground Chia Seeds (Flax Seeds will work also)

- 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

- 3 1/2 Tbsp of Vegetable Oil. Coconut Oil would be healthier, but we have a tiny human with a coconut allergy, so I can't vouch for it.

- 1 1/2 Tbsp of Sugar of your choice.

Dry Ingredients

- 1 Cup of Rolled Oats

- 2-3 Tbsp of Brown Sugar, depending on how sweet you want it.

- 1/2 Tsp of Salt

And one more 1/2 Cup of you Milk of choice (hold this!).

Preheat your oven to 375F and lightly grease an 8x8 pan.

Mix all of your wet ingredients. Your wet mixture should sit for a few minutes while you mix your dry ingredients.

In a seperate bowl, mix your dry ingredients. You may add any spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc.) if you'd like, but I loved it plain!

Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and give it a good mix.

Pour your combination in to the pan, and top it with the 1/2 cup of milk you set aside. It's okay if it looks odd, it will cook in.

Bake at about 30-35 minutes. Mine was done at 35 and then I set it under the broiler for just a few minutes to get a nice crust.

Top this with a fruit of your choice! If my sweet husband and bedhead modeling toddler weren't tugging at me to get it on the table, I would have added some shaved almonds along with my strawberries and blueberries to make a totally cliche American flag desgin. This dish is so great because it can be served in any month with any fruit that is in season!

I'm off to get a 3 month old and a 2 year old ready for some fireworks. Should only take about 4 hours. In the meantime, leave me responses and let me know what you think. Happy 4th!

bottom of page